Ziad Shihab

Roam Research


Roam Research

r/RoamResearch

1

I'd appreciate links to any videos or articles showing how to use the plug-in.

And in general, what are good places other than this subreddit to keep updated on Roam development and new features?

5

Some of the prior posts didn't work for me. Put in your css:

.rm-article-wrapper.rm-spacing--small {
     padding-left: calc((100% - 1600px) / 2);
     padding-right: calc((100% - 1800px) / 2);
}
5

[[Embed]] is the largest node of my graph.

However, apparently embedding blocks also seems to work when I remove the "[[ ]]".

Can I remove "[[ ]]" without breaking something with it?

5
File under: I wish I had thought of this earlier. It's the simple things. Using the "Link to Text Fragment" Chrome Extension in Roam Research. #roamcult
9
Share this Tweet

File under: I wish I had thought of this earlier. It's the simple things. Using the "Link to Text Fragment" Chrome Extension in Roam Research.#roamculthttps://t.co/1qlbi4es1j

— Harley Stagner (@hstagner)March 12, 2021
6

Hi Roamers. Long time listener, first time caller.

My brain loves Roam - I find myself not having to try so darn hard to keep significant data top-of-mind and I can now use that part of my brain for planning snacks or napping.

One piece of my workflow that I have not been able to satisfactorily solve for is the need to take a note, make it presentable enough to use as a printable reference and then share - think about taking meeting notes in Roam and then needing to share those notes across a broader team.

I’m guessing that either someone has figured out a sweet way to do this...or...this is a use case outside of what Roam is really meant to do.

I am grateful for any suggestions...

3

In many of Conor's videos I see him using the ⌃J hotkey (https://twitter.com/Conaw/status/1259045794147000320?s=20).

What are some other hotkeys that are useful to learn for navigating around Roam?

To start: I love the ⌃A and ⌃E hotkeys (native to mac os) that go to the start and end of a line. Works really well for long blocks.

3

Is it possible to set up the syncing process such that the "location XXX" link doesn't appear in every highlight? Driving me mental lol

https://preview.redd.it/eua9vkl1lfm61.png?width=551&format=png&auto=webp&s=aed2cb27e2b90676e85464e8b6d06a00dab14fc1
1

Hi there - newb here. What is peoples approach for tags I.e., habit / habits / Habit / Habits?

Would you just use one and have incorrect capitalisation sometimes and manually pluralise?

9

I'm trying to templatize a daily journal, and I'm getting stuck on how to reference "tomorrow". I'd like to be able to take notes today that because they reference tomorrow show up on tomorrow's daily notes.

Obviously I could just type out /tomorrow and let it replace the date, but I'd like to have that as part of the template. Is this possible?

Thanks for your time and your thoughts

About Community

This is community-run subreddit about Roam Research, the tool for networked thought. Share your tips, tricks, and wishes for Roam!
11.3k

Members

50

Online


Created Dec 24, 2019
advertisement

r/RoamResearch Rules

1.
Be f**king nice to people.
2.
Talk about Roam.
Save